the Shock and Awe fly...

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by SeaRun1, Jul 14, 2005.

1. SeaRun1

SeaRun1 New Member

I am heading out to Neah Bay next week and am looking to tie some tube flies. I am new to them and the results are fishable but... Anyways I keep hearing about the Shock and Awe fly. Can someone provide a description of the fly for me or even better a thumbnail? It would be greatly appreciated.

Also if you have any other sure-fire patterns that work well out at Neah Bay and would'nt mind sharing that would be great.

Thanks!

SeaRun1

2. Steve Rohrbach

Steve Rohrbach Puget Sound Fly Fisher

Media:
    SeaRun1, welcome to the board. Les Johnson frequently posts on this site as Searun.
    My suggestion is to contact Anil at Puget Sound Fly Company, a board sponsor. Anil created the Shock and Awe and sells it at the shop. He is teaching a class on Salt Water Tube Flies this Monday night at the shop for $25.
    I would also check Ibn's gallery. I recall that he has photos of Shock and Awes in a wide range of colors last fall as he prepared to head out to Neah Bay.
    I hope this helps.
    Best regards, Steve

3. Chris Bellows

Chris Bellows Your Preferred WFF Poster

Media:
    well, it's not a tube but i wouldn't go to Neah Bay without some chartreuse and white flashtail clousers (size 1 and 1/0). imo it is the number one fish catching fly for coho salmon at Neah Bay.

Good luck,

Chris

4. hikepat

hikepat Patrick

Media:
    Pink and White Deceivers became my go to fly last year on the salt from July through Sept. Tie them up with a good amount of Purple pearl flash. Just black felt pen dots for eyes and be carefull the Seagulls seem to like them as well as the Salmon.

5. TomB

TomB Active Member

chris....what hook are you tying your clousers on? Thanks.

-Thomas

6. Chris Bellows

Chris Bellows Your Preferred WFF Poster

Media:
    TMC 811S