The Woolly Worm

Discussion in 'Fly Tying' started by PatrickH, Oct 15, 2013.

1. PatrickH

PatrickH Active Member

Media:
    I just started fly tying and I'm tying flies from the bottom and working my way up, but before I considered a fly lesson complete, I want to tie a perfect one for a collectors piece.

I need your opinions on what I could do better on this fly.
    I'm thinking a slightly shorter tail and do a better job on the wire wraps. I should have paid more attention on the angles of the hackle and wire when I wrapped this fly, but I will do on the next attempt.
    I also think red wire would look better?
    Maybe a little fatter by adding lead wire to the body.
    Or maybe I should just by a larger woolly bugger size 4L size 10 hook. 3L size 8 shown in the picture looks a little too short?

IMG_1092.jpg

gormaci, Kaiserman, Krusty and 5 others like this.
  2. Nick Clayton

Nick Clayton Active Member

Media:
    Looks great to me, but I'm no expert. I've always been one who could tie flies to catch fish, but not necessarily flies that attract fishermen. That fly right there will catch fish. I can't offer much in the way of improvement suggestions, ill leave that to the experts.... just wanted to add that you're tying one hell of a fine fly for someone who is just starting out. Great work.

Duane J and PatrickH like this.
  3. dryflylarry

dryflylarry "Chasing Riseforms"

Media:
    I don't use this too much anymore, but, when I did, I caught a hell of a lot of trout on the olive body pattern like this. Tie some up! Nice job.

Olive bugger and PatrickH like this.
  4. ganglyangler

ganglyangler Bird Dogs and Fly Rods

Media:
    That is a fine old school pattern that still catches a ton of fish. Looks great, fish it. The fish will eat it!

PatrickH likes this.
  5. mtskibum16

mtskibum16 Active Member

Media: