Thinking about getting into Spey

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by Bagman, Nov 10, 2012.

1. Bagman

Bagman Active Member

I'm new to fly fishing 3 months so far. I've fished quit a bit when the Slivers were in and am now having trouble with my elbo. I don't know if I'm doing something wrong or I'm just old? I'm thinking overhead Spey casting maybe the answer to my elbo problems. I have a older used Loop Evotec 9/13 reel and was thinking about picking up a 8wt Spey rod to see if that would help. Anyone else have the elbo problem? Does overhead Spey casting help?

Bob Triggs likes this.
  2. Ed Call

Ed Call Mumbling Moderator Staff Member

Media:
    I think it can help. There is some learning curve but a sore elbow or shoulder can benefit from some two handed relief.

Bob Triggs and fredaevans like this.
  3. Salmo_g

Salmo_g Active Member

Media:
    Bagman,

What sort of elbow problems? Tendonistis? Is so, it doesn't matter whether you cast a single and or two handed fly rod. Either one can exacerbate tendonitis. The key is to learn to cast decently. Not expert, but decent. I'm not an expert caster, but I'm a pretty good single hand caster, and can cast all day with no elbow tendonitis issue. When I was learning to Spey cast, the harder I worked at it, the worse it affected my elbow. As I've gotten better, the problem seldom arises any more.

Learning to cast decently is far more important than the number of hands you use on a fly rod if elbow tendonitis ails you.

Sg

Dan Cuomo and Ian Broadie like this.
  4. Bagman

Bagman Active Member

As I'm not a Dr. and I have not been to see a Dr. I have no idea what my pain is from. All I know is when I move my elbow back and forth a few times it catches and then cracks. Once that happens it doesn't hurt for awhile. Do you know what that is?

5. stilly stalker

stilly stalker Tuna sniffer

I get that. Partial dislocation

6. Yard Sale

Yard Sale Active Member