Thoughts on 10'6" switch rods

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by Mulligan, Mar 8, 2008.

1. Mulligan Stephen Mull

Seattle
    Ratings: +3 / 0
    I've been looking into getting a switch rod to use on the smallie streams out here in VA and to use for summer runs when I make it back home. I have my eye on a Meiser rod, but I'm a little concerned about how well it will spey cast at 10'6". It seems that a 10'6" switch rod may be geared a bit more towards the overhead cast. I'm relatively new to the spey world and haven't cast a shorter spey rod. I know there are other switch rods that are longer (Sage for one), but I'd love to have a hand made Meiser rod. Any insights are appreciated.

-Stephen
  2. TrappedinCO Help! I'm trapped in a landlocked state.

Littleton, CO
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    Do a search on the board and I think you'll find some pretty good praise for two-handed anchor point casting with switch rods. Keep in mind that the rods are designed with a flex profile that is intended to function well with spey-type casts. I think that style of cast is much more dependent on the action of the rod than the length.

Plus...if Mr. Meiser says they can handle those types of casts, then you can probably rest assured that they can.
  3. FLGator Member

PNW
    Ratings: +2 / 0
    Why not get Bob to make you one of his 12' 6" 5wts?

Give him a call and talk about your needs. I guarantee that he'll be a wealth of information and answer all of your questions regarding your application.
  4. fredaevans Active Member

White City, Oregon, USA.
    Ratings: +118 / 0
    Got to work the above rod last weekend; a JOY with the Airflo line combo he had on same. He had another 'light line' 'switch' with him too (blank as to the designation) but again, SWEEEEEEET.

Either rod would be a 'I gotta get me one of those.':thumb:

Fred
  5. Big Tuna Member

Wenatchee, Washington
    Ratings: +39 / 0