Thread Finish - Getting it Right!

Discussion in 'Rod Building' started by freestoneangler, Jan 6, 2006.

1. freestoneangler

freestoneangler Not to be confused with Freestone

I've been building rods for 10+ years now and have a pretty good track record of success (having the finish come out right the first time). However, occassionally, the finish will not set-up correctly:mad: even after fussing to the nth degree the A-B component mixture and mixing. I have always used Flex-Coat product (both regular and lite build formulas). I keep my rod building room extra warm (with floor space heater) during cold weather seasons and as I mentioned pay close attention to equal amounts of the resin & hardener. I also mix very thoroughly.

My question to this forum is does anyone have a best practice in getting the finish coat process right every time (using gram scale, etc.)? Do any of the other finish products work better than Flex-Coat?

2. Banzai

Banzai FFing and VWs...Bugs & Bugs

I too, use Flex-Cote products in my rod-building, but have not yet (crossed fingers) had any problem with it failing to set up properly. However; I've not been building rods for that long. If anything it has set up almost too quickly to fully work the wrappings for a complete rod. More experience will probably help out that. One thing I have noticed though,with some epoxies (that is two part resins) is that the older the hardener is the longer the final hardening will take. this is with adhesives, Bondo and polyester resin for fiberglass boats.Sory if this info is no help, I'm stiil a noob to rod building.

3. freestoneangler

We're all new at everything at some point. I know what you mean about working time...that becomes a real challenge on large spey rods with lots of big wrappings...particularly if you're like me and want to get it done in one application.