Top 10 Favorite Steelhead flies

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by gigharborflyfisher, Jan 20, 2008.

1. gigharborflyfisher

gigharborflyfisher Native Trout Hunter

Ok, so I am a little new to the whole steelhead game, I have been out a handful of times over that last few years with nada to show for it. However I want to put a little better selections of flies together, and before I get to randomly tying up steelhead patterns at the vise, I thought that I would see you patterns you guys suggest.

So what are you top 10 favorite producers for winter steelhead????

2. Mark Ritari

Mark Ritari Trouthunter

Mega prince came through this weekend. It is basically an oversize (sz 4ish) bh prince with rubberlegs.

3. Wayne Kohan

Wayne Kohan fish-ician

I've caught nearly all my steelhead this year on a fly called the Kilowatt, a fly I picked up in FF magazine. Then again, I have used it for 90% of my fishing, so there you go. I've mostly been swinging with a spey rod. For nymphing I use a large prince like Mark with a dropper of some sort and have done well with that.

Then again, most people will tell you the fly doesn't matter as much as your confidence in it. You gotta "feel like the fly", in a zen sort of way. Hard to explain, but once you get it, you'll know.

Wayne

4. Clint F

Clint F Fly Fishing Youth

My top 2 favorite are a baby pink size 4 glo bug with a red dot and some dumbell eyes for weight with a little estaz hot pink wraped around the back for a little added attraction. And second a pink rabit leach on a size 2 steelhead hook with dumbell eyes and like an orange dubbing egg around the dumbells. I use 1 strip for the tail and cross cut up to the dumbells. I lost one on the pink leach today. :mad:
    I hope this helps. :beer2:

Clint

5. Zen Piscator

Zen Piscator Supporting wild steelhead, gravel to gravel.

For winter steelhead on the west side (Mark's fly was used on summer fish), I think you have about 7 too many flies.