True 5 or 6wt switch/spey recommendations?

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by Jordan Simpson, Feb 19, 2012.

1. Hey, I am slightly interested in maybe looking for a 5 or 6wt switch or spey rod for this upcoming chum fry hatch.
    The body of water I usually fish during this time has some fun and good sized bull trout and am looking for a rod to match.

Now, I'm a complete spey/switch noob so I don't know how they are rated when talking about these line weights or if they are just labeled in grains.

I am not looking for the equivalent of a 7 or 8wt single-hand. I read/heard somewhere that spey/switch rods are labeled two weights under a single-hand, for example a 6wt swtich/spey is similar to an 8wt single-hand.

I am looking for a rod equivalent to a 5 or 6wt single-hand.
    Does this mean I am going to be looking for a 3 or 4wt spey?

Thanks guys!

2. forget about that arbitrary number, decide what line, and how many grains you want to throw, then checkout the rio chart to find the rods that will do the job. you will see that one companys 7 is anothers 5. its marketing, and nothing more.

3. Jordan, you are on the mark for the most part.... some brands rate different.... be careful of the rio chart.... it says that my guideline 6/7 switch can throw a 425 grain skagit. Not a chance. guideline is single hand rated. check out speypages for a cheaper used one......

4. check out the beulah platinum 11' 7" platinum5 wt. I got one last fall. Its a blast for src and I caught a couple of summers
    on it while skating oct caddis. The rod is so light it feels like you are fishing a single hander It throws a 310 steelhead skandi
    like a dream. I used all of the 10 ft sinking poly leaders on it and it lifts all of them out of the water with ease.

5. I like my CPX 6126, im using it for large river trout and A run steelhead. should be a good match for big bulls.

6. Jordan- check this one out if you havent already found something-