Twisp area this weekend...

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Chris Scoones, Jun 20, 2002.

1. Chris Scoones

Chris Scoones Administrator Staff Member

Media:
    Going to be in Twisp this weekend. The Methow is at 4000cfs, Twisp is at 1000 so Twisp it is. Any suggestions as far as areas to focus on would be appreciated as it's my first time on the river. (It's understood that it's closed above War Creek)

Through the forum or by email. Thanks. :THUMBSUP

Regards,

Chris
    Chris@WashingtonFlyFishing.com

2. saltchuck

saltchuck New Member

Hi Chris - I was in Winthrop for 5 days last week. Didn't hit any rivers because they were way too high and most were dirty. The Chewuck was up also but it was the only one that was not "chocolate". The upper reaches might be pretty good.

If not, the lakes were very good to me. Big Twin was especially nice from about 7PM till dark. I caught fish on dries at the rate of almost a fish a cast on Friday (6/14) after a big wind all day left tons of terrestrials on the surface. Damsels, bees and ants worked very well. Also did well the following day on leeches and damsel nymphs. Weird mix of fish though. Most were in good shape and fought well but every 3rd or 4th fish was a malnourished "snake" with a giant head, skinny body and no fight.

Also, I didn't try it but one of the other guys at Big Twin told me that Davis lake was fishing well especially if you bring a tube/pontoon boat.

I would strongly recommend NOT fishing Patterson Lake. I tried that for a few hours and couldn't get my fly through the schools of micro bass (4 - 7 inches) that seemed to be every where. Eventually got a few trout with a full sink but all in all it was not worth the effort.

Good luck and give us a report back when you get a chance.

3. CaddisMadness

CaddisMadness Fly Fishing in Patagonia: A Trout Bum's Guide

Media:
    Home Page: