Tying in Throat

Discussion in 'Fly Tying' started by Theron, Mar 23, 2014.

1. Theron Active Member

Near Coupeville, WA
    Ratings: +117 / 0
    I am a novice at fly tying. In anticipation of getting to fish for SRC in early April I am tying up some Keta Rose patterns among others. I have a question on at what point do you tie in the UV minnow throat. I have tried it after I tie in the silver body material and before I tie in the wing material and also last after I tie in the wing. I'm not sure it makes much difference but I was wondering if there is a preference.
  2. Pat Lat Mad Flyentist

Des Moines
    Ratings: +770 / 0
    tying in throat is even harder than tying 'in hand':)
  3. Steve Saville Active Member

Tacoma, WA
    Ratings: +315 / 1
    Depends on where you want the throat in relation to the wing. Some flies have it in front of, some behind. That's the beauty of tying your own. You get to make up your own rules.
    FinLuver likes this.
  4. Preston Active Member

Ratings: +435 / 0
    My preference is to tie it in immediately after winding the silver holographic tinsel body. I use x-fine monofilament tying thread for this pattern and it doesn't give the best grip on the UV Minnowbelly material so a little care is required. I like the pattern but think it is a bit more complex than necessary although, in Doug Rose's memory, I try to tie it true to his recipe. I think many substitutions could be made of more readily available materials. Here's my version tied, to the best of my ability, to the original pattern. IMG_0952.JPG
    flybill and ScottP like this.
  5. Theron Active Member

Near Coupeville, WA
    Thanks Preston, nice looking tie. I am tying up a couple of these using olive instead of the light blue to try out on the crappie here in Nebraska the next couple of weeks. I will probably give the light blue a try also. I am looking forward to my move to Washington and learning to fish the salt.
    plaegreid likes this.