Tying Materials

Discussion in 'Fly Tying' started by jfh9, Mar 5, 2005.

1. jfh9 Member

Bremerton, Wa
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    I am new to fly-tying and am wondering if anyone has any advice on where to get quality materials for tying. I live in Bremerton and there is Sportmens Warehouse and a fly shop in Bainbridge, but I am curious if there are any catalogs or online retailers with a better selection.

Thanks.
  2. JWKitsap Member

Bremerton, WA
    I dont have an answer for your question but wanted to let you know of another fly shop in Tacoma that has a good selection of materials as well as very knowledgable employees with regards to the salt. It is called the Morning Hatch and is located at 3640 S Cedar St, Tacoma, WA 98409.
  3. D3Smartie Active Member

WA
    Ratings: +4 / 0
    what are you trying to tie?
    I can get everything i need at NW Angler.
    I can't imagine that you would need much especially if you are just starting out...
  4. Ron Eagle Elk Active Member

Yelm, WA, USA.
    Ratings: +77 / 0
    I try to support the local shops as much as I can. If we don't, pretty soon there won't be any local shops.

However, when money is tight and I need a bunch of stuff I do shop at Hook and Hackle on line. www.hookhack.com They have pretty good prices and give a 20% discount for on line orders. I usually have my order within 5 days.

Hackle is hard to buy unless you can look at it yourself. I have had really good luck buying hackle from Denny Conrad at www.conranch.com. He's located over at Elk, WA and does his own breeding of birds for genetic hackle. He deals directly with tiers, no middle man, and his prices are reasonable. The hackle is as good as any I've used. Best thing to do is call Denny and let him know what your tying and sizes you'll be tying and ask him for help. He won't sell you anything you don't need.

Hope this helps.

REE
  5. mike doughty Honorary Member

the uinta's
    Ratings: +5 / 0