Upper Elwha Suggestions

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Jack Burton, Aug 19, 2002.

1. Jack Burton

I am planning a weekend trip to fish the Upper Elwha River. I have been told for the better fishing I should hike past the Krause Bottom section until I reach the more accessible section of the river starting past Mary's Falls. Is this true and more worth the trip?
    How long should I plan for the hike in?
    Is there much elevation gain?
    Are chest waders worth the extra weight or are boots and wading socks adequate? The point of the trip is to fish.
    Any other fishing hints are appreciated as I am new to the upper stretch and an intermediate in the fly fishing world? :DUNNO
    Thanks

2. Just got back from the Elwa. The upper river has some real nice fish and was worth the 11.5 mile hike into Elkhorn. Plan on staying several nights if you can. We stayed three nights and another night would have been great. The trail has a lot of ups and downs as it goes along the east slope of the river valley but it is mostly in the shade of great old growth trees. Bring waders. The water temp in the morning was below 50. Not much of a caddis hatch while we were there, mostly slate mayflies. Streamers worked the best during the day aroung Elkhorn. Big stimis also worked in the evenings at the head of pools. Riffles didn't have much action. The river above 14 miles gets smaller and more wadeable. Stimis with pheasant tail nymph dropper worked all day long.

3. Jack Burton

How long did it take you roughly to hike the 11.5 miles?