Upper Skykomish

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by mbb1996, Jun 23, 2002.

1. mbb1996

mbb1996 New Member

Hello everyone. I'm fairly new to flyfishing for steelhead and was wondering if there's decent fly water below the Reiter area that can be accessed by car/foot. Before I make the trek out there, just wanted to check with you all. Thanks!

2. Whitey

Whitey Active Member

You hit the nail right on the head. The best fly water on the sky is below reiter and above sulton. I'd try high bridge just below reiter. I floated the sky on tuesday from sulton to ben howard. It was way high, but I needed to get out on some water. Good luck, let us know how it was. :THUMBSUP YT

3. Nailknot

Nailknot Active Member

Walk in access is tough when the water is high between the high bridge and Sultan- but I'm sure there are a few spots I don't know about. :HMMM

The Wallace is also open, below the railroad bridge to the mouth, for Steelhead. It's easy wading when the water comes down a bit. Don't be tempted to fish above or under Hwy 2 or even under the railroad bridge, those waters are closed and enforced.

4. mbb1996

mbb1996 New Member

Thanks for the suggestions.

Just got back from an evening trip out to the Sky. I drove up to the High Bridge area to check it out. I got on the water at about 7pm and walked up about 600 meters or so from the bridge to a really nice looking pool. Apparently four other gear guys thought so too. Oh well. I fished the tailout with a purple/blue marabou fly with no luck. The water was high with about 4-5 feet of visibility.

I took off at about 8pm and decided to finish the day at Cracker Bar. When I got there, I was surprised to see that there were only a couple guys there. I started out with the same purple/blue marabou...nothing. It started getting dark, so I put on a yellow/peach marabou fly. Four casts later. Bam! Mr. Steelhead takes off, jumps, and throws the hook. Oh well...it happens.