Using Bead Heads

Discussion in 'Fly Tying' started by Tom Grobelny, Jan 20, 2005.

1. Tom Grobelny

Tom Grobelny Member

Media:
    What is the advantage of using bead heads on trout nymphs / buggers over weighting with wire?

Before I started tying, I liked the idea of bead heads as I knew that the fly had some weight to help get it down. Now I think that it is almost as easy to add a few wraps of heavy wire for the weight and the fly will have a more natural appearance. I have little experience in tying and even less with CATCHING fish, so do you think that adding a bead head to trout flys (i.e. a ribbed hare’s ear, or price nymph) will make it more effective over weighting with wire?

Tom G

2. Monk

Monk Redneck

Media:
    Well, this may be a stab in the dark, but in certain kinds of fishing I like the motion that using a bead head provides. Also, the extra bit of flash might do perk some interest in the fish. I usually tie 50/50 bead head and just use whatever works. The whole science of it is beyond me. :confused:

3. ceviche

ceviche Active Member

Media:
    A size 16 tungsten gold beadhead olive hare's ear nymph scored me a very nice rainbow at Pass Lake last year. I saw some bug activity by the shore and some swirling of fish. A long cast paid off big.

4. Old Man

Old Man Just an Old Man

Media:
    Here is some more usless info. I think that by using a shiny bead it looks like the bug is rising and it represents a air bubble on the bugs head. Like I said more usless info.

Jim

5. DLoop

DLoop Creating memories one cast at a time

Media:
    Hardly useless. I very much concur with Jim.

I will often use a small bead on soft hackles for the very reason Jim states. At the tail end swing, as the fly starts to rise, that little pretend air bubble is very much part of the bug lifecycle a trout sees during the day.

6. Monk

Monk Redneck

Media: