Using pontoon boat with slow tube leak

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by Steve Vaughn, Aug 20, 2011.

1. Steve Vaughn Member

Richland, WA
    Ratings: +40 / 0
    I'm looking for a reality check on my plan to use my boat with a slow leak in one tube that I have been unable to find. I am a total newbie regarding pontoon boats and floating rivers in them.

The story: I bought a used Skykomish Sunrise this spring from a guy on the westside. We met in Cle Elum to seal the deal. The boat and accessories are in near mint condition. The tubes (bladder type) were fully inflated when we met, which I deflated and folded to get in the short box of my Sport Trac. He assured me that the tube had stayed inflated for the two weeks before and I have no reason to doubt that. I suspect they may have been over pressurized coming over the pass which may have led to a small leak. I've tried the soapy water test twice and can't find the leak in the valve or bladder.

Leak rate: I do not have a pressure gauge yet but the leaking tube is not noticeably deflated to the touch for 3+ hours. It appears 1/2 deflated over night and pretty flat after 24 hours.

My plan is to use this boat, as is, for my first multi-day fishing trip this year (bad year) in mid-September on the lower Yakima Canyon. The question is am I being naive or unsafe to use this boat with a slow leak. I will carry the pump and re-inflate ever few hours. Opinions from the more experienced folks on the forum would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Steve
  2. Phil Fravel Friendly

Bonney Lake
    Ratings: +96 / 0