UV Water Purification

Discussion in 'Camping, Hiking, Cooking' started by Jslo, Jul 26, 2013.

1. Jslo

Jslo Active Member

Media:
    Hey folks, has anyone tried or had success/failures with a UV water purification system while backpacking/hiking?

I will soon embark on a couple day trip up into the Rockies high country, and it would be nice to not carry a ton of bottled water! But I have a mental block against these things...do they work? Believe me I'm not interested in contracting the Aztec-Two Step while on a hike I'm guiding/hosting.

Any advice or tips appreciated!

http://www.steripen.com/

2. Chad Lewis

Chad Lewis NEVER wonder what to do with your free time

I've been using a steripen for several years and been happy with it. They work as advertised. I always carry spare batteries and a backup water treatment method because it's an electronic gizmo that could fail and it has a light bulb on the end that could break if you dropped it on a rock. Having said that, I've never had an outright failure. My backup is iodine tablets and iodine neutralizer (can't stand that iodine taste). Compared to a conventional filter you need to be aware of a couple things. One is the pen won't fit into bottles that have a small opening. I use wide mouth Nalgene bottles or purify water in a cooking pot and pour into something else to carry. Second is the clarity of the water you're gonna drink. If you know your water source will be cloudy then you need to have a way to filter the sediments and stuff. I use a cotton handkerchief folded twice and cover the opening of the bottle when I fill which does a good job of keeping random floaters and stuff out. Water that's truly turbid will need to be filtered better; steripen make a good one.

3. Jslo

Jslo Active Member

Media:
    Thats helpful, thanks! Ok here is my total newbie question...