Want to Build a 10ft Pram

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by pfournier, May 31, 2012.

1. pfournier Do it outside!

tacoma, wa
    Ratings: +1 / 0
    I am planning to build a 10ft pram and would like suggestions on plans, idea of the cost involved, advice on tools/supplies and some advice like "If had known what I know now...." feel free to chime in. I'm all eyes.

I have never done this before, so would be satisfied with stitch n glue.
  2. candr Daryl

Ratings: +26 / 0
    I'm just finishing up a pram build. It's taken a lot longer than I expected it would and it's cost a lot more money than I thought it would but it's been a very satisfying project. I wanted a boat that I could fish stillwater with as well as float up to class iii rivers with so I went with these plans : http://thtchronicles.blogspot.com/p/zs-drifter-pram.html . I modified them a bit to suit my taste and built the boat out of a material called plascore with a mahogany veneer on the inside and carbon/kevlar on the outside. I wanted the wood look without the weight. The boat is almost done and its come in at under 100lbs however the cost of materials for building in plascore/carbon/kevlar is very high. Dave (designer) of the boat is very helpful with questions if you go with his plans.

Good luck and post pics if you get into a build (I will post some of my boat when I finish it up).
    Daryl
  3. Frank R Member

Dearborn, Michigan

I am surprised you have not had more replies.

I absolutely love the pram that is shown in the link above. I missed seeing it in person too; he was on the Pere Marquette in Michigan the day before I was there. It is really a midwestern style river pram with shallow rocker.