Wanting to hear all about your Delta Spey set ups and casting tips.

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by James Waggoner, Mar 21, 2011.

1. James Waggoner

James Waggoner Active Member

Media:
    Just got a Delta Spey 6/7 multi-tip, from the Red Shed...Thanks Poppy!...just wanted to hear how others set up their system, things like leaders and fly sizes, rod sizes and action you prefer. Everything is relevent, I'm new to the Delta spey line and would like to wade through any info you may have for me.

What I do know at this point: I like the 52' head length; 10 strips put's me out to 100 - 105'. I'm currently falling short in the turnover area...are tight loops outside the design window of this line? Tailing loops are killing me!

I'm using my 7136 Z-Axis, would anyone else agree the 6/7 Delta is a tad heavy?

Anyway, thanks for anything you have to offer.

James.

2. Leroy Laviolet

Leroy Laviolet Aint no nookie like chinookie

Media:
    Fabulous fishing line for all around stuff . Large stinger flies with med. lead eyes on a 9/10 w/ my steelhead sp , no sweat-

3. Big Tuna

Big Tuna Member

Media:
    Short 10 lb. Maxima Ultra Green leaders w/ tips. 12 ft. tapered leaders w/ about 2-3 ft. of tippet w/ the floater. I fish tubes and smaller leeches w/ the Delta. When I throw big junk, it's Skagit time. I fish a Delta 90% of the time. Great line.

4. James Waggoner

Media:
    Big Tuna, when you say short leader, do you mean like 3' -4' short or 4' - 6' short? At 10# mono level leader, probably 3' - 4' is the right answer...but just want to check.

5. sheetfly

sheetfly Member

So I watched this video by Jim Teeney and the only thing I cared to remember from the whole thing was about avoiding tailing loops. His fix was to rotate the rod on the forward stroke. That would be twisting the rod by hyper extending the wrist. In other words the reel would end up flat to the water outside your elbow. Make sense? Does it work? Dunno.