Waterproof digital camera

Discussion in 'Photography / Video' started by poirierpro, Nov 10, 2008.

1. poirierpro

poirierpro Member

What is the best waterproof camera out there for the money?? After fishing with a buddy that has one and looking at the sweet underwater photos we got I think I need one! What do you guys use?

2. Nate Dutton

Nate Dutton I'm a teacher, I fish to eat!

Media:
    I like my pentax optio w30.....but search function(if you haven't already) There is a plethora of opinions on this board about the "best" waterproof digital camera

3. James Waggoner

James Waggoner Active Member

Media:
    I have the optio w10. You can get the optio 30 for a song now that the w60 have come out. Things I like: takes great pictures, SD card, great battery life, and waterproof!

4. Mark Ritari

Mark Ritari Trouthunter

Media:
    Home Page:
    I have the Olympus stylus 850 SW and love it. I can just throw it in my wader pocket and dont have to worry about it. It takes good pictures even though i dont, and its pretty indistructable. Theres a big dent in it that got there some how but it still works perfectly.

5. Jason Rolfe

Jason Rolfe Wanderer

I've got the Olympus 790 sw. Its pretty sweet, rugged (in its way). I'm guessing that you are going to get these two suggestions: The Pentax and the Olympus. I went through this whole search for the waterproof camera a while back.
    Check out some product reviews online, and then just find the one that fits your budget best.

I've found that the Oly 790 I have works great for everything I need it to. good underwater shots, good above, etc. etc. Keep in mind, if your taking the underwater shots yourself (of your own fish and what not) it can be hard to set up a good shot (what with awkward angle, struggling fish, etc.).

but good luck, they're fun to have and play around with.

Cheers,
    Jason

6. cabezon

cabezon Sculpin Enterprises

Media: