weather on the snoqualmie

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by darik, Oct 9, 2001.

1. darik

darik guy without a clever handle

Media:
    went out to the middle fork of the snoqualmie on sunday morning, but couldn't get a single fish to bite. i've been there a few times over the past month or so, and normally i have great luck on either a size 14 elk hair caddis or a size 14 or 16 para adams, mostly in the faster water. it's become my favorite local place to fish since i moved back to the area, and normally i can bring in several cutts and an occasional rainbow between 10 and 12".
    i noticed though that when i've had good days up there it's been a nice sunny day and i've usually fished mid-afternoon, but this last weekend the weather was pretty gloomy and i was out early to mid-morning. i did notice a couple duns flying about, size 14 or so (Blue Winged Olives? i'm still an amateur entomologist) but had no luck with imitations. i also tried nymphing a bit, using the generic GRHE and BHPT, but i was wondering if a sudden weather change like that will normally push the fish into deeper holes or cause them to stop feeding altogether. i was getting to the point where i kinda think i know what i'm doing with a fly rod in hand, but days like will keep me in my place! good thing flyfishing is such a damn fine sport, even a bad day on the river is better than the best day working, right?
    ...any help from a veteran??

2. Chris Scoones

Chris Scoones Administrator Staff Member

Media:
    Hi Darik,

We had some similar 'luck' Saturday for the SF & MF Snoq. When a cold front pulls in with rain after an extended period of nice days I'll usually default to a nymph until I see a hatch on top. I'm found the dries to be more productive later in the day as well, especially evening time.