What # Backing for 7WT Spey?

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by Benjy, Jan 28, 2011.

1. Benjy

Benjy Active Member

Media:
    So, I am new to spey fishing and I'm getting all geared up with a 7WT. I want to put an Abel Super 10 on it because that's the most suitable reel I've got on hand. I'm going to use a Skagit short. I've got all the mow tips, the line, the running line and now I'm thinking about which backing I should go with. Having only fished 2 handed one time and didn't hook anything I can only assume that seeing your backing when you hook a fish is pretty common. Is 20 lb. enough or should I go with 30 considering that it's a large arbor Super 10?

I'm thinking that this will be primarily a winter use set up, but I might want to swap line off of it and use it in the summer.

2. Brady Burmeister

Brady Burmeister Active Member

Media:
    If you ever plan on using it for Kings, use 30#.

3. bouface

bouface Member

Yep, 30#. You have plenty of room on your reel to put 150-200 yards of 30# with the line your using, which is plenty of backing.

4. Salmo_g

Salmo_g Active Member

Media:
    Benjy,

20 is enough, but if the reel has a large capacity 30 is convenient to avoid having to wind on 300 or 400 yd. I have 20 on all my reels I use on single hand rods, and 20 or 30 on the reels that go on two handed rods, depending what I had laying around.

Sg

5. stilly stalker

stilly stalker Tuna sniffer

20 will be ok, but if you fish for kings or chums, Id use 30

6. Philster

Philster Active Member

Media:
    20 is probably 10 to 15 pounds lighter than the breaking strength of a quality 7 wt line. Your call. I never use anything buy #30 or higher.

7. LD

LD Active Member

Media:
    20# for most situations would be fine. but you risk looking your entire line if something went wrong.

8. soundflycaster

soundflycaster Member

30 for winter type fast water and big fish. 20 for summer situations. If you only have one reel go 30.

9. fredaevans