What colors do Steelhead see?

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by Randru, Nov 25, 2009.

1. I was talking with the owner of the local fly shop and he mentioned hearing that Steelhead are initially prone to hitting flies that are chartuse and purple. However he also mentioned that, the longer they stay in freshwater and the more their bodies acclimate to it their vision also changes and they are more likely to hit a red, orange or somewhat similarly bright colored fly. As I understand many claim that they bite not from a feeding instinct but a curiosity or aggressive impulse.

I am just getting into the sport and the information I read is as varied as the source. Any comments on this is always welcome.

1. Do Steelhead tend to hit the lure based on how their vision is affected by being in freshwater?

2. And while they may not be voraciously feeding those who pump the stomachs or gut them for the table claim that they do feed. If so is it possible to key in on this aspect and choose flies based on their diet? And what might that be?

Thanks for any advice.

2. I won't take up the color issue as I've seen and caught steelhead on every color I can think of. Regarding feeding in freshwater, I believe it depends on the river. My adopted HW, the Trinity in No CA, is a tailwater that runs 47-50 degrees all winter in the upper reaches. It has incredible insect life, Skalwa, BWO, callibaetis, Isonychia, caddis, drakes, stones, sally's, etc, etc. all year. A friend took 3 fish on a #12 adams last January; he says they were sipping Isonychias like trout. I watched some steelhead in the 1st pool below the hatchery (closed water) this week taking up feeding stations and sipping grey drakes (#16 +/-) like crazy. I have had good luck with #14-16 emergers fished on a dry line during a hatch. I don't know if it's instinctive reation or any of the other numerous theories, but it does happen and it's sublime.