What dictates a class level of water?

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by Matt Burke, Mar 29, 2008.

1. Matt Burke

Matt Burke Active Member

Media:
    So I’m no pro. Toon in dry falls for starters, years later I’ve floated the Sky, Klick, Hoh and the Calawah. Is there some literature or something online that lists class levels of rivers? Some thing that might include what class they would be at known CFS rates? What literature might be useful from the whitewater rafting books? I see you can get certifications for the big hydraulics. Is it worth it? Also, hiked into boulder drop on the Sky several weeks back. What class level is that and how the hell do you get through it?

2. Jerry Daschofsky

Jerry Daschofsky Moderator Staff Member

Media:
    Home Page:
    There is a ton of info on the net if you want the answers. But in a nutshell, a classed run can change depending on the river level. There are a few books. I have an old riverbook (not sure if it's still made) that lists all the whitewater rivers in each state (you had to buy one for each state). Tells you which months are best, and at which river levels. Boulder drop is usually a class 4 or 5 depending on the river level. I'm a bit rusty on the run, but do believe it peels off to the left a bit and goes through the boulders. Been a decade since I last ran it, so a bit rusty. But it's a mixture of maneuverability, turbulence, pitch of the boat, river level, etc that makes the rating. I do believe most of the raft makers and guide pages should give you exacts. Try doing a search for the ACA (american canoe association), they may have it on their site.

Is it worth it? If you're an adrenaline junky, it is. Gives you a rush to run it, that's what makes it exciting (whereas some people do it and never want to go back on the river again). I love doing it. Just hoping my back and shoulder finally heal enough for me to actually do it again.

3. castnblast

castnblast New Member

4. Dustin Bise