What do you know about tiger trout?

Discussion in 'Stillwater' started by IveofIone, Jun 10, 2014.

1. IveofIone

IveofIone Active Member

Tigers are one species I have little experience with and usually get my butt kicked when I try to catch them. I'll be fishing for these in a few days and wonder if anyone has any fatherly advice they can render before I go out and start flailing the water in another futile effort. On the morning of July 4, 2001 I caught over 40 fish on this lake in a couple of hours back when it was all rainbows. All on damsel patterns. But since the lake has become all tigers hookups have been few. I would like to break the code and be able to write a positive report about the lake, there should be some good sized tigers in there by now.

Ive

2. Irafly

Irafly Active Member

Media:
    There should be if they have survived. Has the stocking gone down, meaning are there less Tigers stocked than bows? Is there a predominate bait fish in the lake. Once they reach a certain size the brown in them will likely take over and they will become more and more piscavarious by nature. They will also become more nocturnal or crepuscular. Therefore you may have your best chances at catching the larger fish by throwing largish bait fish patterns during the dawn and dusk periods.

This doesn't mean that they won't also feed during the day with the right conditions.

Good Luck!

3. freestoneangler

freestoneangler Not to be confused with Freestone

Media: