what do you think?

Discussion in 'Fly Tying' started by Beachmen, Jan 31, 2013.

1. i am a pro tier and was playing with a new color and on a small shank for steelhead. just wanted some thought on this fly. its Steelhead Orange. i love this color. its new from Fish Hunter and im having a blast with it. mixing it with everything and has been working great in the salt water for SRC and Residential coho.

Attached Files:

daveypetey, Jeff Dodd and Flyborg like this.
  2. That's a nice color of orange for steelhead. In theory, it should work (if steelhead existed) :)

Looks good to me.

3. i got my hope up. i am 1 for 4 landed for hook ups so i got my hopes up.

4. I like the addition of the orange saddle hackle feathers to the pattern.

5. Simple, sexy, and has some contrast to boot. It'll fish for sure.

6. Yes Flyborg
    Sexy

7. Looks like you have some saddle in there

8. I like it, it looks fluttery
    the collar makes it just a little darker at the head which is nice, I bet when it gets wet it will have a very barred look.
    No flash? I think a few strands of crystal would look nice
    cool tie

9. Pro Tyer? lol

Stickel.back likes this.
  10. It looks pretty.

11. Beachmen,

It is very nice. Could you please provide a recipe? I too like the addition of the orange saddle hackles.

Thanks,

Beachmen likes this.
  12. yes i am. u tied 95% of Gig harbors salt water flies till about 3 weeks ago. did that for 4 years. now i am tying for Puget Sound. Also Ross lake and fisherman that want my SRC flies.

daveypetey likes this.
  13. tail: Steelhead Orange saddle hackle
    body: Salmon uz estaz
    Under callorr: Dark Lilac hackle
    Under Wing Flash: Gold flashabou
    wing: SteelHead Orange Marabou
    Callor: Orange Guinea
    Thread: hot red.