What Pontoons to Consider?

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by Dr Bob, Mar 23, 2010.

1. Dr Bob

Dr Bob Member

I am considering buying a pontoon boat and can use some advise. I have not had a pontoon boat before so I have no experience with them. I am hoping that some of you pontoon owners can save me some time in looking at a boat that fits my needs. Here are my desires in a toon:
    1. Mainly used is stillwater.
    2. Ability to attach trolling motor with battery(I already have both).
    3. One that can be transported in or on an SUV. (Do they come with frames that can disassembled for transport?)
    4. Good quality and easy to use.

So what do you recommend I consider? Thanks in advance for your help.

Dr Bob

2. Kent Lufkin

Kent Lufkin Remember when you could remember everything?

Media:
    Having bought and sold a ton of gear, these days I see absolutely no need to pay full-bore retail. I suggest that you buy a lightly used boat at a fraction of the MSRP and let the original owner take the depreciation hit.

As an example, didja see this post for a Buck's Bags Southfork in the Classifieds: http://www.washingtonflyfishing.com/board/showthread.php/67062-FS-Bucks-Bags-Southfork Although he's including a hitch-receiver rack, at $550 it still seems a bit steep but I'll bet you could negotiate a lower price, especially since a nearly identical one just sold for $350 a week or two earlier(http://www.washingtonflyfishing.com/board/showthread.php/66895-FS-Buck-s-Bronco-pontoon-8-ft).

I like the Southfork as a beginner boat for a variety of reasons: it's USA-made; has a stainless steel frame; fully adjustable seat, footrests and oarlock position that allows it to be custom-fitted for your body; a reputation as being bulletproof; and made by a Boise-based company that stands behind their products instead of passing the buck to an offshore subcontractor if something goes wrong.