What rod blanks to choose?

Discussion in 'Rod Building' started by Salmonchaser25, Jul 1, 2008.

1. Salmonchaser25 Member

Kirkland, WA
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    I am heading to the Kenai Penisula in late August to hit the silver run and am going to build a rod before I go. I have never built one before so my friend who has is going to help me. I want a 4 piece 9ft 9wt and was wondering if anyone knows a good blank around 100 to 200 dollars. I have found a few websites that sell blanks but am having trouble chosing one.

Thanks Quinn
  2. Charlie S Confrimed Reprobate

Ukiah, CA but moving to Spokane
    Ratings: +1 / 0
    Go to http://www.dancraftent.com/ and look at Dan's 4pc FT blanks. $155 for the blank you mentioned. These are GREAT blanks used by many custom rod builders.
  3. Mike Ediger Active Member

Spokane, WA
    Ratings: +152 / 8
    I second Charlie on the FT, but I am not sure if you need a 9wt for silvers if you get the FT. It is a very fast and powerful rod. Talk to Dan. I believe he uses a 7wt for AK silvers. I may be wrong, which is why you should ask him, but I think that is what told me. Can't go wrong with the FT though, and at a great price.
  4. Salmonchaser25 Member

Kirkland, WA
    thanks guy. I have a 5wt already, and the reason I wanted the 9 wt is so I could have a rod at both ends of the spectrum.
  5. Charlie S Confrimed Reprobate

Ukiah, CA but moving to Spokane
    Ratings: +1 / 0
    I have the entire range of FT blanks and like them all. My personal favorites are the 4 wt and the 10 wt. I hooked (an accident) and got to the boat a tarpon of over 90 kilos on a 9wt. Got it into the leader three times before it wrapped around an anchor line I didn't know was down and it snapped off. The rod held up and I couldn't believe the backbone it had and how well it took the abuse I gave it that day to stop the fish from making long runs.
  6. Patagonguy Active Member

Argentina
    Ratings: +88 / 0
  7. snarlac Member

Sacramento, CA