What to do with all my crappy flies

Discussion in 'Fly Tying' started by Ron Crawford, Oct 25, 2007.

1. Ron Crawford ===

Seattle, WA
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    Here's a question from a new tyer for all you veterans .....

I have been tying for about two years. I do just fine with saltwater stuff, and I can handle most of the easy freshwater stuff. Lately I have been really trying to build my skills up by tying a lot of flies (mostly steelhead stuff). I really want to push my skill set upward so that I can tie decent quality flies on a regular basis.

I usually tie a series of 8 of a given type of fly. Since I am trying to work on my skills, I carefully look at the finished product, figure out what needs to work better and then tie it again and try to improve every time. Usually the last two look pretty good but the fist three or four are pretty crappy. I end up with a lot of flies that are only marginal in quality. They are fish-able (I guess).

What do you do with all those "learning curve" flies? I guess I could fish them, but a) they are going to fill up my fly boxes pretty fast; and b) It's kind of a downer to tie on a fly that you know is crappy.

I can't be the first guy to have generated a drawer full of crappy flies. What did you guys do when you were still learning and trying to get better?

Any advice will be much appreciated.
  2. hikepat Patrick

Des Moines, WA, USA.
    Ratings: +12 / 0
    Razor blade and lighter will take off any thread, feathers, wool, fur and most synthetics then you can reuse the hook and try again. The trouble is if you use lead or wire on the fly since that hard to remove though it can be done after you cut and burn the other stuff away.
    If doing more then one fly at a time it best to do this outside unless you like the smell of burnt hair.