what to fish?

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by Tyler Speir, Nov 2, 2005.

1. Tyler Speir

Tyler Speir Artist

Media:
    Home Page:
    Ive never fished the salt before. This is my first time on the salt forums. What are my options for fishing the salt? Somthing other then chum. I want to try everything I can. Is there such thing as an easy catch? I really know nothing about this.

2. ibn

ibn Moderator Staff Member

Media:
    Home Page:
    I wouldn't say anything is "easy" but sculpin are pretty readily available, fish a clear line from the beach with a small clauser and strip it in along the bottom. You might get into a silver, searun, or even a blackmouth to. If you get into a pod of coho or searuns you're set, they're not really hard to catch, the hardest part is hitting the right beach at the right time. A lot of that comes from experience, and a lot of it is luck.

Just go hit a beach and give it a shot, don't be freaked out by the saltwater either, it's not going to melt your rod or warp your wood. Just rinse your stuff off when you're done. 6wt with a clear line and ~6-9 foot leader is the way to go.

Pro tip- Get a stripping basket if you fish from the beach. Trust me.

3. Roger Stephens

Roger Stephens Active Member

Spier61:

For "something other than chum" the name of the game now on Puget Sound is sea-run cutthroat(SRC). This fisheries has been excellent for the last month but is now starting to slow down somewhat as the SRC follow the spawning salmon upstream for an easy meal of salmon eggs. However, there are still quite a few large SRC near estuaries. It is a hunt and seek game to find out where they are hanging out. By the first part of December this fisheries will really slow down. Do a search on this web site under "sea-run cutthroat' and "SRC" and you will find a wealth of information.

In a month or two the "resident silver" fisheres will start heating up on Puget Sound. Again do a search of that fisheries to get you started.