Where are you fishing this weekend?

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by ricklea1953, Nov 21, 2007.

1. ricklea1953

ricklea1953 New Member

Anyone fishing the seattle-tacoma area beaches this weekend? I am a brand new beginner who would like to watch. Just want to observe. I am picking up my first saltwater rod/reel outfit on friday, monday or tuesday.

If you don't mind being approached and asked questions, that would be great. If you don't want to be interupted, I will respect your privacy.

At this point I am buying my beginner gear and waiting for a introduction to fly fishing class to be offered so I can hit the beaches in search of cutthroat and silvers.

Thanks,
    Rick

2. Jake Bannon

Jake Bannon nymphs for steelhead....

Media:
    Id go but with the small tide changes near the Gig Harbor area I think I'll opt for elsewhere.

-Jake

3. Les Johnson

Les Johnson Les Johnson

Rick,
    You are really overthinking getting started fishing our beaches. It isn't rocket science. I believe that you noted that you have a fishing outfit. that is all important.
    1. Purchase a Washington Gazetteer if you don't already own one. Use it to locate places mentioned in the threads on WFF.
    2. Pick up "Walks and Hikes on Beaches around Puget Sound" by Harvey Manning. It is out of print but available through Amazon.com (used).
    3. Contact a nearby fly fishing store for a few details on places to try, the best tides at these places, and to purchase some flies.
    4. Select a spot or two based on the information you receive at the shop.
    5. Check the tides on the internet. Save the site as a favorite.
    6. Go Fishing!
    As for joining a local fly-fishing club that is nearby your home, consider it and investment that will return dividends. Clubs are a great source for finding fishing information and experienced fishing buddies.
    I hope that this information gets you out on the beaches by the end of the week.
    Good Luck,
    Les Johnson

4. Dick Warnke