Where have all the Chum gone?

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by davec, Jan 26, 2013.

1. davec

davec Member

Where have all the Chum gone?
    I have been fishing the Skagit/Sauk system for over 25 years and can remember large runs of Chum salmon returning to this river system. Over the last decade I have been observing less and less fish, especially in the last two or three years. Is it my faulty sampling or are the Chum ending up in the fish market? While I do not activelly fish for Chum their decline concerns me because their presents adds to the overall river health.

2. cmann886

cmann886 Active Member

The mommies are all dead and the babies aren't born yet.

3. davec

davec Member

Cute, let me clarify, I am referring to usual and accustomed Chum season.

4. Jamie Wilson

Jamie Wilson Active Member

I have noticed the same thing. Particularly worse over the last 3 years. Same systems - might as well add the Stilly too.

5. Stonefish

Stonefish Triploid, Humpy & Seaplane Hater

Media:
    Commercial harvest........

6. Jerry Daschofsky

Jerry Daschofsky Moderator Staff Member

Media:
    Home Page:
    Yup, BIG money is being paid overseas for those fish.

7. Tacoma Red

Tacoma Red Active Member

It's really the roe that at $10 per lb is most commercially feasible. Even Costco sells it. How ironic.

8. DimeBrite

DimeBrite MA-9 Beach Stalker

Media:
    Our amazing world class north Sound chum fisheries were sold out to commercial harvest in exchange for more sport fishing access to summer run chinook in the salt. This started back in 2008. Another great fishery sold out by Washington state. It was a good deal if you own a nice saltwater boat tricked out with downriggers, but not so good for late fall river anglers.

9. I remember 20+ days about 5 years ago. Now I'm lucky if I can hook one everytime. And when I do the quality of fght has been down as far as moldy nasty chum on verge of death

10. Runejl

Runejl Josh

Media: