Where my packrafters at?

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by JesseC, Aug 12, 2012.

1. JesseC

JesseC Active Member

Media:
    I'm just getting into packrafting and am having a hell of a time getting my gear load down to a manageable bow weight. What do you guys recommend for a three day weekend jaunt?

Also - lets just start a general pack rafting conversation....

-Have any of you figured out a good way to transport a spey rod?
    -Anyone up for a long hike in and float down - hiked up 10mi of an OP river, pretty amazing.

Just getting the conversation rolling. Haven't run into many packrafters here in WA.

2. Grant Richie

Grant Richie Member

Media:
    Home Page:
    What are you putting in there to have a heavy bow? And which packraft are you using? If you can pack the packraft and all your gear in 10 miles, it shouldn't be too heavy of a load for your bow. Or if it is, you may need a bigger packraft.

When you say transport a spey rod do you mean set up so you can stop and use it easily, not just stuck in a rod tube? My last packrafting trip I had a 9 1/2' fly rod set up the whole time and at first I tried putting the reel up by my seat between my legs with it sticking over the front, resting on my dry bag. That was often in the way. I found it much better to put the reel up towards my feet, rod between my body and arm pointing out the back. I know it doesn't sound good, but that gave me the best range of motion to paddle and didn't bounce around and get in the way.

I was using a Baylee 1 River Runner and you could easily strap a Scotty Rod holder with the float tube attachments. You would simply run the straps through the self bailing holes in the floor. Oh yes, it is a self-bailing packraft and yes, if you used it you would want to buy it. I actually bought three Baylee's to rent and sell out our raft rental business at Minam.