Where to fish for Salmon with a fly

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Flyfshrmn, Jul 11, 2002.

1. I have been fishing for salmon for many years with a buzz bomb and now I want to move on to using a fly. I live in Kitsap County and the only place I know of to fish for salmon is Point No Point. Could any one give me any suggestions where I can use a fly and listen to my reel scream as a salmon strips the line off.

Thanks

2. It is my understanding that Point No Point can be very good to flyfish, but I have no personal experience there. I have heard that the fish often move really close to shore. Just my .02$.

3. Point no Point is as good a place as any to start, and better than most. You'll be fishing the same places and same way you did with your buzz bomb, just not quite as far out (unless you develop a REALLY good double-haul). so look for places where the tide rip is moving a little closer to shore. I've hooked plenty of fish at PnP very close to shore (within several feet actually), right at the point. The shallow flat southeast of the lighthouse at PnP can be really good sometimes at slack tides for occasional cruisers. I think PnP is also one of the best spots for realistic shots at blackmouth from the beach (though you couldn't prove it by me).

The area around Foulweather Bluff is also good. And in late July and August you can fish from your float tube or kick boat in Miller Bay (the fish in the bay will be getting a little sparse and darkish by September).

One word of advise: Leave the buzz-bomb rod at home, at least until you start getting fish with the fly rod and gain some confidence. The casts-to-fish ratio with the fly is going to be a little higher, and if you get frustrated and pick up the buzzbomb because you KNOW it works, it will take that much longer.

4. Bush Point in late summer and into the fall can be really hot for Coho. You may even pick-up the occasional Steelhead.