Which river?

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by Dan-O, Oct 2, 2013.

1. Dan-O New Member

Tukwila, Wa
    Ratings: +1 / 0
    As I stated in my introductory post, I'm new to steelhead here in Washington, but not to fishing for steel in general. My question today is this: which river near Seattle would you recommend learning?

I do have a 10ft pontoon that I could float with if I had to, but I prefer to wade the river. I just want to start learning a river around here that also gives me a decent shot at some steel and or salmon. Any and all information is sincerely appreciated.
  2. ChaseBallard bushwhacker

Seatown
    Ratings: +78 / 0
    If you've fished for steelies before (gear or fly, doesn't matter) you'll have a jump on where to look once you hit the river.

The Skykomish from Ben Howard access up to the boulder runs above Reiter Ponds hatchery is a good place to start learning. Fishes late Nov - Feb then again June-Sept depending on summer weather. That pontoon boat will put you onto the best, least crowded water (monitor flows though, the rapids right below Big Eddy / High Bridge access can be pretty gnarly. After that it's usually mellow).

If you really prefer wading, check the WDFW river access list but don't expect to be alone or have lots of room for casting flies (The Ben Howard launch might be a good spot to start if you're swinging, usually some space and a good traveling lane against the far bank). For less crowded options cruise up Highway 2 and start scouting road side access.

If you live in Tukwila the Green River is a closer option to get to know.
  3. John Hicks Owner and operator of Sea Run Pursuits

Olympia
    Ratings: +180 / 1
    This time of you is a bit in between "seasons" for the West side of the Cascades. Most all of the Columbia tributaries will have Steelhead (summer run). If you wait around till Thanksgiving, you will start to see the Hatchery seasons for winter steelhead begin on the coastal rivers.