which vise to buy?

Discussion in 'Fly Tying' started by Jason Decker, Nov 5, 2006.

1. Jason Decker Active Member

Issaquah, WA
    Ratings: +1 / 0
    I am getting ready to purchase my first vise and would appreciate any recommendations and suggestions you might have.
  2. Big Tuna Member

Wenatchee, Washington
    Ratings: +44 / 0
    Renzetti traveler w/ the cam jaws and the pedestal base. I've been tying on mine for 5-6 yrs. and love it.
  3. Swandazi Kevin

Washington
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    the dyna kingfisher is a nice vice.
  4. Jason Decker Active Member

Issaquah, WA
    Ratings: +1 / 0
    i am looking at the Renezetti Traveler............ i will check out a few others too. any used deals that you know of?
  5. TallFlyGuy Adipossessed!

Vancouver, WA.
    Ratings: +45 / 0
    From one Realtor to another :ray1: :ray1: Get a Norvise. If you start on one you will be ahead of the game! The advantages far outweight the learning curve.
  6. Willie Bodger Still, nothing clever to say...

Lynnwood, WA
    I have the Norvise and a fixed Regal. One disadvantage I have seen for the Norvise is longer flies (long tails/wings) can have some issues with the cam area of the Norvise. Or, perhaps I just got used to the Regal and am having trouble switching over. However, the Norvise is so nice for applying anything wrapped... So, I use the Regal for the long flies (that really don't have a wrapped body anyway) and the Norvise for everything else.

WB
  7. weiliwen Active Member

Chicago Illinois
    Ratings: +89 / 0
    Consider a Dan Vise. It's made of composite, not metal (except the jaws), but don't let that fool you. It's only +/- $80, and I would have still bought it for $180.
  8. Don Stracener New Member

Grants Pass, Or
    I'm going to have to suggest the Nor-Vise. I have four others kinds and don't use them anymore, except for pictures.

For longer flies I switch jaws and have plenty of room.