Who fishes Spey in the salt?

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by Dale Dennis, Jul 23, 2012.

1. Dale Dennis Formally Double-D

Arlington, WA
    Ratings: +5 / 0
    As a long time salt fly fisher and spey (in rivers) I am curious as to how many of you are now effectively fishing the spey in the salt.

1. Are you fishing a switch (10’-12’) or standard spey rod?

2. Are you fishing this from the beach or boat?

3. Advantages/Disadvantages?
  2. afried New Member

Port Townsend, WA
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    I'm no great caster, whether one handed or two, and I'm just getting started on doing mostly spey casts from the beach. That said, I think I'm pretty much going the spey route for salmon fishing from the beach from now on. Last week for the first time I beach fished a Skagit Flight on an 11' 6 wt switch and really liked it. The beaches I fish almost always have current in one direction or another so setting up for a Skagit cast usually works pretty well. The advantages I see so far are not having to check behind me for passing people or dogs before each cast, not ruining flies by hitting rocks on the back cast, and better distance on the casts with a lot less effort. On my trips to the beach last week I was fortunate that they were not crowded - it remains to be seen how well this will work when side to side room is limited.

Andy
  3. Ed Call Mumbling Moderator

Kitsap Peninsula
    Ratings: +1,475 / 9
    I have tried both. I like a switch rod off the beach. Two handed overhead casting is my preferred delivery. This is tough with a long Spey rod at my skill level.
  4. Bob Triggs Your Preferred Olympic Peninsula Fly Fishing Guide

Olympic Peninsula
    Ratings: +686 / 0
    During Salmon Season I use my spey rods on the beaches for fun, and because it keeps me in shape for winter fishing. I use a combination of overhead casting and spey casting, depending upon how many other people are around, proximity to other anglers etc.
  5. Fishee Member

seattle