Why wouldn't I want a Loop Classic? (if the price was right)

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by ignatius, Apr 26, 2011.

1. ignatius New Member

TX
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    I've no experience with this heaver iron I see on the forum .. I'm outfitting a '15 9-10 wt and want a suitable reel. I am drawn to the classic reels I see but wonder about how you work those with no drag which brings me to the loop classic, seems like the best of both? What am I missing?
  2. Mark Walker Active Member

So. Cal.
    Ratings: +220 / 1
    If the price is right, I'd jump on it. I have a few and think they're great reels. I can find no fault with them.
  3. golfman65 Guest

Ratings: +5 / 0
    If you want a classic with a drag, you can get a speyco which IMHO is a better reel for half the price..

I've owned a loop classic.....if you can get one for less then a speyco then go for it...
  4. Panhandle Active Member

Selkirk Mountains, Idaho Panhandle
    Ratings: +23 / 0
    No reason. I have two. Great reels and sound good. Go for it! Which size and how much?
  5. Ed Call Mumbling Moderator

Kitsap Peninsula
    Ratings: +1,324 / 9
    No reason not to get what you want. That is a pretty big stick, will the loop classic balance it? Will the loop classic make you happy? Will it land the fish you hook? Will you like how it looks? Will you like how it sounds? If so, go, go, go!

I have never found one at a price that I thought I could really afford at the time it was available.
  6. ignatius New Member

TX
    I have a 14' 9-10 rod (I'm used to trout stuff when I put it together it just keeps going and going maybe that's why I said 15') I checked and need a 15 oz reel to balance it out right so I think that's a 11-13 classic; gently used in the low $400s is my limit.

The spey co reels look really great and for a hand made reel the price is right. But how does the drag work on these?
  7. Panhandle Active Member

That retails for just under a grand, so i'd say jump fast.