Winston D.B.Special rod question

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by JeffO, Feb 3, 2007.

1. I have an opportunity to buy a Winston D.B. Special 15' 7/8.
    I would use it primarily as a winter rod for Sauk and Skagit fishing.
    Does anyone have any experience with this rod, positive or negative?
    What lines might work well with heads.

Thanks
    JeffO

2. I have the Derek Brown Favorite 15ft 7/8 and find it is an excellent rod for use with long taper lines like the SA XLT. It is designed to cast in the traditional style with full belly lines which it does beautifully. If you need, or want, to cast into tomorrow the DBF rods all can do it with ease. I have no experience with using heads on it but would not choose a DBF as my first choice winter short head, heavy tip, anchor sized fly rod.

Regards,

3. I loved my DB. It went away due to gear overload. Great rod. Wouldn't be my first choice for skagit. It would do it, but not as well as a more specialized rod. If you are paying going rate for it, look for something else. $400 plus is alot to pay for a rod you won't be letting shine in its own specialty area, which is long belly. It'll handle a midspey, but really, it wants a pretty long line. Did I mention awesome, though heavy rod?

4. JeffO,

I have fished with the DBF #7/8 for the past 5 years on the Deschutes. It is a summmer/fall rod. When the wind is not blowing, it throws the XLT #7/8; when there is a breeze on the water, I switch over to the SA XLT #8/9 and the line throws forever. Also in my arsenal is the DBF #8/9 used with a windcutter & upgrade to throw tips; DBF #9/10 for tips and T-14; DBF #10/11 for T-14 only. Yes, they are a bit heavy but they are MONSTERS......