Winter Steelhead Flies

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by wet line, Nov 19, 2003.

1. wet line New Member

Burien, WA, King.
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    OK I am going to bite the bullet and not use my drift rod this winter. So what are the 4 go to flies, size and weighted or not do you use?
    The 4 my uneducated mind comes up with are: Surgeon General, Boss, Freight Train and Comet. All tied on a size 6, 4, and 2 and the first three weighted to fish under an indicator.

Dave
  2. Florian Leischner o_clarki

Olympia, WA.
    I am not an expert but the two flies that I use alot; and the two flies that have yielded winter steelies for me are:

Black Wooley Bugger with Flashabou in the tail and an orange conehead -size 4- swung

Red Butt Polar Shrimp -size 2 - swung and nymphing style

I use the first on dirty water and the second on clear water, but of course do I use all kinds of other flies. But like I said those two produced for me on two medium sized Olympic Peninsula streams.

What has worked for anybody else ?
  3. alldayeveryday Guest

I have never caught a winter steelhead, but a lot of the really good fishermen I have encountered on the river along with my fishing buddies (not that they aren't really good....) use two-tone marabou flies almost exclusively.
    My winter steelhead fly box is almost exclusively marabou, but I do use a few BIG Green butts.
    Im not giving away any "secret" color combos, but its not too hard to put BARNEY and THE COLOR OF THE SKY ON A CLEAR DAY together on your own.
    Its never worked for me, and it might not work all winter this year too and the winter after that, but I will keep on swingin it.....:D
  4. Philster New Member

Ratings: +3 / 0
    Have something purple and/or black

Have something orange and/or red

You can put some orange, red, or pink on something purple (surgeon general anyone?) or black if you want to.

You can probably leave everything but the size two flies at home.