Winter Steelhead on the dries?

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by Randall Clark, Jan 28, 2010.

1. Randall Clark

Randall Clark Active Member

Media:
    I'm relatively new to this whole steelhead game. So far, all that I've actually caught have come while nymphing. Consequently, most of my fishing for steelies so far is just nymphing. Now, for trout, I'll go the extra mile to hook them on the surface, even if I'm sacrificing numbers (not there yet with steelhead). My question is, what type of water do you look for when targeting winter steelhead on the surface? I realize that this will drastically reduce the number of takes, but it's definitely something that I think would be a little more interesting (not to mention the significantly higher doses of adrenaline) than watching the bobber float by...

thanks,
    Randy

I just can't think of anything better than swinging a chromer to the surface on my Fenwick 8wt. glass and USA-made Martin spring/pawl rim-control reel.

2. Evan Burck

Evan Burck Fudge Dragon

Media:
    Home Page:
    try getting a few on the swing first, then go for the dries

3. rick matney

rick matney Active Member

Media:
    love the enthusiasm! I want Taylor Swift to come and marry me and give me an amex black card and say have fun too.

4. Randall Clark

Media:
    wow, thanks for the help...I'd call her but I prefer brunettes...

5. Evan Burck

Evan Burck Fudge Dragon

Media:
    Home Page:
    the point we're getting at is.... dry flies are more of a summer fish game when things are still warm. cold water temps will have these fish glued to the bottom

6. Salmo_g

Salmo_g Active Member

Media:
    Randall,

Winter steelhead to a dry fly is in the catagory of a fluke. Don't count on it. Ever. But, hey, knock yourself out.

Sg

7. tediousthumper

tediousthumper Hello My name is Thad and Im addicted to flyfishin

Media: