Worst Returns on Record for Puget Sound Winter Steelhead?

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by Courtesy Flush, Aug 31, 2009.

1. Courtesy Flush aka Sean

West Seattle
    Ratings: +1 / 0
    It's been a weird summer where I've fished fewer days than in the winter. And I was just starting to get excited with the change in seasons (back to winter) until I read this blog post today.

Osprey Steelhead News

~ CF
  2. doublespey Steelhead-a-holic

Bothell, WA
    Ratings: +22 / 0
    That's not news to anyone that fished the Skagit last spring. I've been doing it for quite a few years and the lack of steelhead this last season was very sobering to us all.

Brian
  3. KerryS Ignored Member

Sedro Woolley, WA, USA.
    Ratings: +1,754 / 0
    I didn't find anything in the article but speculation and opinion.

The steelhead numbers in the Skagit this past season certainly appeared to be low but I have only personal experience to judge this with. I did see fish in the system and there very well could have been more arrive after the river closed.

I would like to see what the "official" response is as far as returning numbers of wild steelhead were to the Skagit.
  4. byrdland New Member

Louisville, KY
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    I read recently that Whole Foods Market has sold wild steelhead. They're one of my favorite stores. I'm boycotting them. I live a long way from Puget Sound.
  5. Old Man Just an Old Man

Dillon, Mt
    Ratings: +1,659 / 0
    Just because they are selling wild fish, if doesn't mean they are from Washington. This seems to be the only state that none return to.

Being that you are in Kentucky, they could be Great Lakes fish.

Jim
  6. Bob Triggs Your Preferred Olympic Peninsula Fly Fishing Guide

Olympic Peninsula
    Ratings: +654 / 0
    In all liklihood the Steelhead being sold in Washington regional markets are coming from the coastal rivers and tribal fisheries like the Hoh, Quinault and Quillayute and others.
  7. Smalma Active Member