Wrapping Rod Guides

Discussion in 'Rod Building' started by ag17, Feb 13, 2008.

1. ag17

ag17 New Member

Hello guys,
    I am new to the whole rod building seen and I have a few questions and I hope you guys will have the answers

1. Do you have to hand wrap the guides to the rod or is there an ideal motor to use?
    2. If I can use a motor what rpm would be a good speed to buy for a beginner?

I have built one rod from a kit that I bought through Cabela's, and I had a lot of fun. So now I am looking to buy some more equipment for rod building. Thanks for the help.

2. Bert Kinghorn

Bert Kinghorn Formerly "nextcast"

Media:
    I suspect I'll be very much a loner with my opinion when all your responses to this thread come in, BUT I'd recommend you not worry about getting a motorized rod wrapper at this point. Spend your money on a nice blank, good cork, decent hardware and build another rod. Your skills will improve with each rod you build. You will also pay more attention to doing quality work and less on figuring out and dealing with specialized tools.

At this point I've built something over 200 rods and I have never bothered with a power wrapper, or even a wrapping rack for that matter. Maybe when my skills improve a bit or if I decide I have to sell the rods I build to eat, I'll consider a power wrapper.

3. hendersonbaylocal

hendersonbaylocal Member

Media:
    Agreed. I don't know why you would need a motor unless you were doing it all day long. All you need is something to keep the thread tensioned as you wrap. There are some examples of rod wrappers in the gallery: http://www.washingtonflyfishing.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=18037. Some people just use a book...

4. Mike Ediger

Mike Ediger Active Member

Media: