Yellowstone NP

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by BillH, Aug 9, 2004.

1. BillH

BillH New Member

I will be visiting Yellowstone NP the end of August. Please help me out as this is my first time.

What river would you fish?
    What type and size dry fly would you use.
    Any other suggestions?

Please let me know.

Once again - thanks for your suggestions.

Bill

2. flylikeIdo

flylikeIdo Member

I would go just a bit farther to the Green River which dumps out of Flaming Gorge dam. I have fished both places and for an extra 4 or 5 hours on the road I dont even compare the two.

3. luv2fly2

luv2fly2 Active Member

i dont know if it ia a fair comparison but is the green better than the madison?

4. Tightline

Tightline Brian Perry

Media:
    End of August in Yellowstone I would fish the Lower Gibbon under Gibbon Falls, and the Firehole tribs for Big brown moving up from the Madison. Also, The Lamar river should produce well with Terrestrial Patterns. A friend of mine regularly goes out there the beginning of September and slays em on Slough creek with Bee patterns.

~B

5. flylikeIdo

flylikeIdo Member

Its not a fair comparison for the madison. I think the Green is the best Tailwater fishery in the US. I landed a 24" 8lb brown on the green along with numerous 20 somethings. Plenty of 10-15 lb fish caught every summer. Take your pick.

6. circlespey

circlespey Member

Media:
    The Green's a great river but stick with Yellowstone. No dams, no rafts, usually fewer fishermen, and nothing but real nature in every direction.