Your Fav. Beach Line

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by chrome/22, Dec 9, 2007.

1. chrome/22

chrome/22 For him there whould always be the riddle of steel

I'm new to this game, I went with the Airflow 40+ Coldwater/Salt line. It's a 8 weight line, for my fast action 7 weight. Went 1 line over for more distance......

What line do you like??

C/22..............:confused:

2. Jeremy Floyd

Jeremy Floyd fly fishing my way through life

Media:
    Since I am usually throwing smaller shrimp flies and streamers on the beaches a FLHS (floating head system) on a 5 or 6 wt is my line of choice for beach fishing. Especially if I am casting westward into the wind.

3. Denny

Denny Active Member

Media:

Are you posting this question because you don't like the line and are looking for another option, or . . . ?

4. chrome/22

No I have not used the line yet, just looking for some info from other beach casters

C/22......:)

5. herl

herl Member

Airflo 40+ intermediate is my favorite beach line, and I've tried a lot of beach lines. You will need a stripping basket to get the most of it though. There is a learning curve for using both the 40+/Outbound type lines and for using a stripping basket. Once you get the hang of it, you'll be doing great.

One thing- I believe the coldwater/salt line has a slightly different, shorter taper than the freshwater version. I have used the cold/saltwater line and found that it had a tendency to 'kick' or 'dump' rather than unfurl smoothly. This is something you can adjust your stroke for but I also found it helpful to add a 10 foot intermediate poly leader to the front of the line. This sort of extends the front taper and delays the turnover, for me anyway. I do not have this issue with the freshwater 40+, but do with all the Rio Outbound lines. I think the more compact taper on the Outbound and the saltwater 40+ was designed to handle heavier leaders and bigger flies.