Your Fav. Beach Line...

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by chrome/22, Dec 9, 2007.

1. chrome/22 For him there whould always be the riddle of steel

Hurricane Ridge, WA.
    Ratings: +15 / 0
    I'm new to this game, I went with the Airflow 40+ Coldwater/Salt line w/ the clear shooting head that sinks @ 1.5" per sec. It's a 8 weight line, for my fast action 7 weight. Went 1 line over for more distance......Good choice or..??

What line do you like??

C/22..............:confused:
  2. D3Smartie Active Member

WA
    Ratings: +4 / 0
    with the 40+ you shouldnt have to overline the rod. That line is more of a line and a half type line.
    I use rio outbound floaters 95% of the time. Always want to be able to fish poppers.
  3. hendersonbaylocal Member

Seattle WA
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    I like fishing a slow sinking line or intermediate... always carry a floater though!
  4. Denny Active Member

Seattle, WA, USA.
    Ratings: +46 / 0
    Where did you get the information that the 40+ is a line and a half? I'm not sure what that means, but I think you mean that it is a 1/2 line weight heavier than its rating . . .

With shooting heads, it's generally accepted to go up at least one line weight category, if not two line weights (particularly for fast action rods). If the 40+ is a 1/2 line weight heavier than its rating, then it wouldn't be unheard of at all to upline by one. I have the 40+ in a couple of line weights, and I am considering uplining one line weight on certain of my rods to get the line to shoot better . . .

The 40+ and the Outbound are similar but different lines. Both are integrated shooting head lines. I find the running line on the Outbound is much thinner than on the 40+ and, although I haven't measured them on a scale, it seems the equivalent Outbound head may be a little heavier than the 40+; either one of these items allows the Outbound to 'shoot' better than the 40+.