Your favorite time of year...

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Tightline, Mar 16, 2004.

1. Tightline

Tightline Brian Perry

Media:
    All of these heavy posts of late, got me to daydreaming, and hoping to start a lighter, fun thread that I can read here at work..:)... I have been chasing steel with big gear for too many months, and find myself dreaming of small mountain streams, bugs, and little jewels. It amazes me, the options we actual have in this state.. from Summer and Winter Steel, high alpine, low desert, small and large streams, lakes etc. I was curious to see what turns people on most... for me, wet wading up a small, remote mountain stream in June pitching dry flies to hungry trout is where my heart is.

So what about you? Are you a April Metalhead, a June Alpine lakes back country enthusiast, a November Chum fan or still searching?

~B
    :beer2

2. J-Go

J-Go New Member

Casting #20 dry's all day to rising trout in the alpine backcountry lakes of the Beartooth mountains. That is where my heart is. Oh, and dead-drifting weighted #16 skip-nymphs on the upper Deschutes below the Blue Hole. Add a summer morning on Hosmer Lake, with the fog vaporizing into the blue sky, swarms of hatching caddisflies, and the ripples of fish rising all around you. Hmmm, I guess some of my heart should go to fishing the tiny mountain streams in NE WA/ID with little hopper patterns in the fall - releasing little 8" jewels back into their micro-water-world. 20+ fish days on the Crooked River in the dead of winter... And I can't forget all of the lake fishing that explodes in the late spring both on the east and west side of the Cascades. DAMN IT! I just can't pin my heart down to one instance...It's all good!

3. Peter Pancho

Peter Pancho Active Member

Media:
    Home Page: