Z-axis of shot guns??

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by seattleangler, Dec 28, 2008.

1. seattleangler

seattleangler Member

Media:
    I'm new to upland hunting and looking to invest in a decent 12 ga. I'm looking for a shotgun that's akin to the Sage Z-axis (or XP) of fly rods. In other words high end main stream, but nothing fancy. Would a Browing Citori 625 Field be akin to the Z-axis? What about the Fausti guns that Cabelas now carries? Your help is much appreciated.

2. FLGator

FLGator Member

What type of shotgun are you looking for? Autoloader? Benelli would be my first choice.

However, one that fits YOU is most important.

3. seattleangler

seattleangler Member

Media:
    I'm looking for an over & under, I think.

4. shotgunner

shotgunner Anywhere ~ Anytime

Media:
    Best BANG for the buck!

Give us some parameters, at least a $ ceiling :thumb:

5. seattleangler

seattleangler Member

Media:
    $2500 ceiling, over and under style, used for both field and trap. I don't know enough to tell you more.

6. shawn k

shawn k Member

dont buy a 12 gauge if all you are going to do is upland bird hunt. Get a 20 or 28 gague
    I am partial to berettas but I also have a browning citori.

7. Jmills81

Jmills81 The Dude Abides

Media:
    ahh, sure, if you are hunting release site birds, but a 12 gauge is standby on wild birds when your only shot could be a long one

From Quail to Pheasants, a 12 is the most versitile gun in my opinion

der ya go

A Beretta 687 could be a nice choice for you. That's a hell of a gun

8. Guy Gregory

Guy Gregory Active Member

There are many fine o/u guns. I'm partial to brownings, weatherby makes a fine gun, the italians are sexy too. You'll only be happy with a gun that fits. It's that important. It ain't like a fly rod, it must fit.

I personally think the benelli autoloader is the most versatile, most reliable, and easiest to fit. I sold a nice browning o/u to get it. But I understand.