Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner

Newbie question re current conditions

1K views 9 replies 8 participants last post by  Gard Nale 
#1 ·
So ... Complete newbie question... Should I think of the current floods as an event that will bring fish up into the rivers as the levels go down? If so, how far do the levels need to drop for the fish to start moving up the rivers?

Or.. Do I have a fundamental misunderstanding here?

Thanks for the help as I try to figure this all out!

#2 ·
Fish begin moving upstream as waters rise. When the water keeps on rising, as in a flood, best guess is that fish hunker down wherever they can. These are times when fish are seen swimming around pastures and across roads and in ditches and other not so good places. As the water begins to drop, fish resume migrating upstream. When the rivers drop but are still higher than optimum fishing condition, fish are generally well distributed throughout a river system, suggesting that they find water that is a bit too high for good fishing to be just fine for migration.

Sg

#3 ·
While these freshets like the one we are experiencing aren't pretty at times, they will get fish moving.

If you wait to start fishing until you think the river is in shape, you've likely waited too long.
Start fishing it as it is coming into shape, not after.
High water with some color can pay big rewards.
Hope this helps.
SF

#4 ·
In general yes, this year i doubt it. I think this is going to be a very poor return for hatchery steelhead but then i think the hayday of the chambers creek winter steelhead stock are long gone I think the run is dying out, just too inbred and not surviving. but that's just what I think. Mid January or thereabouts i'd expect fishing to improve as wild fish start to show

#6 ·