Airflo Skagit Switch question

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by luke_flywalker19, Sep 21, 2017.

1. luke_flywalker19

luke_flywalker19 New Member

Hey guys I was wondering if you could help answer my question. I'm looking at the Airflo Skagit Switch for an 11' 7wt Loomis Pro 4x, but can't figure out if I should go with the line in 480gr or 510gr. I'm an amateur caster and am just kind of in between on what I should do. I'm thinking the 510gr at 20' to see how it is and then if it's too much just chopping it down a bit at a time to get my desired action. Is this an irrational thing to do or No? Thanks for the help!

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

2. 4sallypat

4sallypat Active Member

Good choice on Airflo's short chunky line similar to the OPST.
    Great choice on rods - I love my G Loomis PRO 4X 5wt switch rod for trout!

As for your 7wt, I started out with 510 skagit and moved down to 450-480 after learning to cast different lines.
    The 510 is great to learn with if you are new and in waters that are not too fast (think Missouri river) casting lighter tips (T8/Z10), and medium flies.
    The lighter weight lines would be better to use in faster water, heavier tips, big flies.

I would not chop down a short chunky skagit because it changes the profile of the line and alters casting.
    Change out the tips to get the desired casting like a shortened floating MOW tip or the new OPST floating 5' or 7' tip would be good to reduce line stick on a switch rod.

3. luke_flywalker19

Right on thanks! I have a 350gr Commando head I'm also going to use so I'm going to see how the two compare between a heavier line and a lighter line and also like you stated different waters and flies.

The 510gr being heavier will allow me to slow my stroke and help properly load the rod with less then perfect casting techniques when compared to the 450-480gr yes?

4. 4sallypat

4sallypat Active Member