Beulah Onyx 7129

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by scifidelity, Apr 25, 2017.

Tags:
  1. scifidelity

scifidelity Active Member

Hi All,

I recently picked up the rod in the subject line. I'm looking for line recommendations. I have a full OPST rig on another 8wt. single hand rod. I like it fine, but think the head is short for what I want. I am new to two handed rods. From what i've read, traditional spey lines are falling out of vogue in favor of shorter skagit style. I'm not too keen on Scandi, but don't know must about it. In terms of weight, should I look at 450g or 480g? Something different? I'm not interested in Rio products, the Airflo rage compact looks like a good one. 30ft. seems to be a good/ versatile head length? Thanks for your help.

Josh

2. Stuart_Stringer

Stuart_Stringer Active Member

3. scifidelity

Right, I did some of my own research ahead of time. Thanks. Unless you have experience with that particular line, I'll pass on a line made by a rod company. You'll notice the 450g rage I asked about is the same weight as one they recommend

4. Stuart_Stringer