Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner

BIIX 7wt 11' switch

Spey 
1K views 12 replies 7 participants last post by  bill1227 
#1 ·
i need help lining my first switch rod. i would like to use this rod for both swinging and indy fishing small rivers. basically a line for spey casting but can still do a "ok" job throwing a indy setup. what would be a good line for for this situation. i wouldnt be throwing "huge" flies.
i have very little experience spey casting.

#4 ·
a good shorter head option, given you only have 11' to work with and may find it comfortable to throw spey casts AND nymph with, would be the scientific anglers single hand skagit at 400 grains. ive found this line at 22' to be a great match to many switch rods in the 7wt category.
for the running line, however, if you want to be able to stack mend at 35-45', you'll want either the SA dragontail (a tapered running line), which shoots like shit, or you can take an old WF8F line, cut the first 2' off and loop it to the back end of your single hand skagit. that should function as a running line that can also mend well, since youve effectively created a "rear taper" to your shooting head.

#13 ·
hi,